22:50

First day here–it felt about 3 days long.  Going to breakfast this morning seems like it happened last week.  A rush of things to do, papers to find and turn in, PEOPLE EVERYWHERE, and events going on all around.

I got lucky this morning and ran into the girls from WSU at breakfast.  Since they’ve been here for two days they were able to tell me everything I missed and helped me get about six forms taken care.  I met a few people in the process.  Then I wandered around for a bit, trying to locate buildings.  (Mostly sucessful.)  There were lots of presentations to go to today, and a social dinner/people-bingo/dance off  instead of supper.  I met even more people, and will hopefully remember some names.

Tomorrow morning there is a Japanese placement test at 9:00.  I’m trying to study, but I’m feeling super tired and jet-lagged, so it’s slow going.  I guess the most I can do is give it my best shot.  がんばる!

Japanese word of the day: gambaru / がんばる (gahm-ba-ru)  to do one’s best; to give one’s all

3 responses

  1. Angela

    I love the word of the day!

    August 26, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    • Kathy

      Maybe we will all be speaking Japanese by the time Megan comes home! Not putting any bets on my proficiency though!

      August 28, 2010 at 1:49 am

  2. Dave

    Love the whole blog…
    It’s going to be lots of fun…heck, it’s almost like being there…

    David

    August 27, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

